Review: Your Highness

I was expecting a lot more from this film by the director of ‘Pineapple Express’ and starring one of the writers, Danny McBride. McBride has had roles in some seriously good comedies like ‘Hot Rod’, ‘Superbad’ and ‘Tropic Thunder’, and you would expect he would want his first major writing role to provide his lead character with killer dialogue that would live up to the pedigree of the films he has appeared in. Instead he has written a script with a ‘shit’, ‘fuck’, ‘motherfucker’ or ‘cocksucker’ in every single line.

Added to the woeful script are the actor’s mock English accents and innuendo so obviously placed, and which were sometimes needlessly explained. For example; the scene with the old wizard (a puppet resembling a cross between a purple jellyfish and Yoda) where the main characters have to solve a riddle which is a thinly veiled request for the princes (McBride and James Franco) to ‘jerk him off’. That would have been enough, but no, we had to see them simulate masturbation with a puppet.

The intelligence level of the film is set at the start in a scene which sees McBride’s head in a noose at a trial in a dwarf village, the punchline for which you can see coming a mile off. As he falls through the trap door to his (surely impending) death, his feet hit the floor and he escapes. This said, there were few times during the film where I genuinely laughed, but not as many times as the audience in the cinema around me.

On a positive note, the sets, scenery, costumes, make-up and effects were really impressive and I’m sure the plot was sound enough way, way beneath the constant crassness which gave the film a disjointed feel. But this didn’t really balance out the fact that I felt short-changed by the shocking over-use of swearing as a plot device for cheap laughs.

I was suckered in by the trailer, which made this look like a hilarious comedy romp through a fantasy world. Top marks for the editor of the trailer as it’s actually one of the few films I’ve ever seen at the cinema that I wish I’d downloaded illegally. Even my Brother, who seemed to enjoy it a lot more than I did, said he probably wouldn’t  buy it when it came out.

The biggest joke about this is that it co-stars Oscar-winning actress Natalie Portman and legendary British actor Charles Dance, in whose eyes you can clearly see the pound signs spinning. No acting awards will be won by the actors in this film

If you want a smutty film with more subtle wit than this farce watch a ‘Carry On’ or perhaps a Mel Brooks film, Blazing Saddles and Young Frankenstein spring instantly to mind.

6 Responses to “Review: Your Highness”

  1. Ironic that a film hyped as a new Austin Powers should require genuine “Basil Exposition” moments!

    I did wonder whether it was yet another case of all the good bits being in the trailer (not to be confused with “Unknown” where the WHOLE FILM was in the trailer). Turns out I was right o be sceptical.

    Nice review buddy

    • Funnily enough a lot of the funny bits in the trailer were much less funny when put in the context of the film! I heard about ‘Unknown’ and decided to miss out on it, even though there was supposedly a twist…hmmm, I wonder what it was…………

  2. Jo Williams Says:

    ‘Your Highness’ is less funny than ‘Carry On Columbus’. And you’re right about the trailers; they had me fooled, too. That’s the last time I judge a celluloid production by its reel…

  3. It could have been so much funnier, but with what I got, I laughed for the most part. Juts lazy comedy really. Good Review!

    • Thanks very much!
      I’ve not really seen many other things Danny McBride has done in the past but from what I’ve heard he writes a lot of real gross-out comedy that pushes the enelope. The thing is, I like dangerously close to the bone comedy, I just felt this, as you say, is lazy and unintellegent.

Leave a Reply

