Review: The Offspring, Days Go By

Days Go By is the ninth studio album by pop punk stalwarts The Offspring, the latest in a career that started in 1984.

The album starts off promisingly enough with a track named ‘The Future Is Now’ which is a real hark back to their mid-to-late nineties sounds and seems to hint at the span of their career in its themes. Though it does sound an awful lot like ‘Million Miles Away’ from their album Conspiracy Of One released in 2000. And the déjà vu doesn’t stop there; ‘Dirty Magic’ has the guitar of ‘Vultures’ from the same album and the vocal melody from the chorus of ‘Have You Ever’ from 1998’s Americana (though it’s actually a re-recording from Ignition, an album of theirs from 1992, which is just a bit slower and brings Dexter Holland’s vocals to the front a little more.)

Fortunately there are some really good songs on here too; ‘Secrets From The Underground’ could be from a much earlier album with all its aggression with Holland shouting: “This is not an anthem, / Or a threat in someone’s name / But a promise that tomorrow / Will rock and burn, if things don’t change / There’s something in the air, / And There’s something rising up / Not one but a million that have had enough”. Right…

There are also the slightly more tongue-in-cheek songs like ‘OC Guns’, a latin/reggae song about gangs in California, which is pretty good and breaks the album up nicely. Unlike the obligatory pop/r&b number, in this case the woeful ‘Crusin’ California (Bumpin’ In My Trunk)’ which is, frankly, rubbish…yet, somehow, the first single!

There is a surprise halfway  through the album where Holland actually sings in a restrained manner on the power ballad (by pop punk terms) ‘All I Have Left Is You’.

This is a disjointed album, and certainly their best days are behind them, but there is just enough good material on this alum to make up for the utter dross and all the recycled riffs and melodies, which make up the minority of the album. Equally, three of the members of the four piece are pushing fifty (Holland, 46, Greg K., 47 and Noodles, 49) so to keep playing music as aggressively as this without completely watering down their sound (or indeed suffering from a coronary) is an achievement.

Days Go By certainly shouldn’t be the first album you listen to from The Offspring, but it is worth a listen.


6 Responses to “Review: The Offspring, Days Go By”

  1. I really need to download this album, but to be honest I haven’t really seen the best reviews for this so I’m reconsidering wasting my money on this album. Plus I had really high hopes for this album. I must say I feel confuddled

    • If you’re a fan of their early work it’s probably not for you, but it’s much better than ‘Splinter’. There are some really good songs on there, but it is a bit hit-and-miss, I must admit.

  2. Ahh that helps loads, yeah I was hoping it was good so badly. That sucks but thanks for that! 😀

  3. Yeah I did, and yeaah your right I don’t think it’s their best work. 😦

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: